Lifetime Achievement Award

Congratulations Wayne Swegle and Jack Pitzer!

Two outstanding past presidents of the AAEA are the 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award recipients. They are Wayne Swegle and Jack Pitzer.

“Wayne has had a long and diverse career, beginning from his early work at Successful Farming, to his time in the 1970s as assistant to the secretary and director of public affairs at USDA, to president of the National Millers Federation in the 1980s, to his work with Winrock International in the 1990s and beyond,” says Legacy Committee Chair Larry Dreiling. “As a past president, he remains an inspirational figure, co-author of our 75th anniversary book, and member of two committees.”

Pitzer had an extensive career with the National FFA Organization, as a publication director and editor, leader of the convention’s popular career fair and other activities.

“Jack inspired so many young people with his work,” Dreiling said. “His presidency gave AAEA expanded professional improvement programs. His historic turn as co-chair of the Vision Committee brought forth the germ of the idea of what has become the Agricultural Media Summit, as we work closely with other organizations to deliver great programs for our members. He also plays an active role in the development of ways AAEA is preserving its rich history as we near our 100th anniversary.”

The AAEA Lifetime Achievement Award is designed to honor current and former members of the organization, including those who may be deceased, for outstanding professional and personal achievements and leadership, with specific emphasis on contributions toward improvement of the viability and value of AAEA. This award is reserved for those who have adhered to high standards of professionalism in all aspects of their endeavors. It is sponsored by CHS Inc.

Members may be nominated by another member or they may nominate themselves for the award. The AAEA Lifetime Achievement Award is open to all members based on the following criteria:

- Years of membership in AAEA
- Leadership activity within AAEA
- Achievements in AAEA-sponsored professional improvement award programs (writing, photography, design, etc.)
- Involvement in AAEA-sponsored professional improvement activities (annual meetings, regional workshops, writing workshops, design workshops, etc.)
- Participation in and achievements in non-AAEA professional activities
- Participation in and achievements in personal activities outside of AAEA and the ag communications profession
- Contributions to AAEA that have helped make the organization a better, more viable and more valuable organization

The AAEA Legacy Committee will select the winner(s) and may, at their discretion, select to honor up to three nominees annually, including at least one deceased member. Contact Legacy Committee Chair Larry Dreiling with questions,, 785-628-1117.

AAEA Lifetime Achievement Award Winners
2012 - Earl Manning
2011 - John Harvey, Fred Myers
2010 - Paul S. Weller, Jr.
2009 - Betty Lou Denton, Bill Fleming, Jim Lilly
2008 - Claude Gifford, Larry Harper
2007 - Wilson Carnes, Bob Rupp, Charlie Scruggs, Jim Thomson, Cordell Tindall
1990 - Wheeler McMillen

2 Responses to Lifetime Achievement Award

  1. Karl Wolfshohl says:

    You couldn’t have found a better editor or finer human being to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. “Mr. Earl” set the standard for Progressive Farmer editors for decades. To this day, a mention of his name to someone who has worked with him automatically opens the door.

  2. Gaylon Booker says:

    I join a legion of others in a salute to Earl Manning for this special recognition. I had occasion to know him professionally and personally for many years and I am delighted to learn of this very well deserved honor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Spam protection by WP Captcha-Free