Andy Markwart Horizon Award

Stay tuned! The recipient of the 2013 Andy Markwart Horizon Award will be announced at the Ag Media Summit banquet, Tuesday, Aug. 6.

The Andy Markwart Horizon Award, presented by the AAEA Professional Improvement Foundation (PIF) and John Deere in a matching grant partnership, is an annual award given to an AAEA member who embodies the youthful vigor, energy, passion, dedication and creativity shown by Andy in his volunteer work for AAEA for many years. Andy, editor of The Furrow, died in 2006 from heart problems.

Each year, the award’s winner receives a $2,500 stipend, which can be used for attending the International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) annual Congress, the Agricultural Media Summit or a professional development class, seminar or workshop.

The Andy Markwart Horizon Award is being funded with a $25,000 grant over five years by John Deere (Andy’s employer for many years prior to his death) and matching funds to be raised by PIF.


2012 – Jennifer Shike, University of Illinois
2011 – Mike Deering, National Cattlemen’s Beef Association
2010 - Jeff Caldwell, Successful Farming /
2009 - Joy Carter, Georgia Peanut Commission
2008 - Corey Geiger, Hoard’s Dairyman
2007 - Jamie Cole, The Progressive Farmer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Spam protection by WP Captcha-Free